Our Vows

We wrote our own vows.

Writing these together, on a long Interstate car ride, was more straightforward than you might imagine.  We made a series of promises to each other, and we intend to keep them.  Here they are:

I, Paul, take you, Kate,

To be my wife.

I promise I will love you faithfully and without condition.

I will bear all things, believe all things, hope all things, and endure all things.

Your joys will be my joys, and your burdens my burdens.

I will speak with honesty and love; I will regard your faults with grace.

I will pray for you every morning; I will never go to bed angry.

We will always be best friends.

About Paul Bowers

I'm learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Vows

  1. Gayle says:

    Paul and Kate,
    Please accept my warmest congratulations on your good sense, love and success. Today is the 36th wedding anniversary for my wonderful husband and best friend, Wayne, and me. We did what you and Kate did. Only it was 1975. We also wrote our own vows, which are framed on our living room wall. The last line was, “And not even death shall part us.” We were students at the University of Michigan. My parents thought we were nuts. I had a brother 4 years older and a sister 7 years older but I was the one getting married at age 20. When they protested, flabbergasted with the news, we presented them with a written plan. They still laugh about it to this day. Time does not permit me to tell the entire story but, besides our deep love, the other main reason was financial. If we were independent, we could qualify for student loans and grants that we otherwise would not, due to our parents’ income. Their income prevented us from aid yet they weren’t paying our tuition anyway. So we needed to be legally emancipated. I won a full tuition scholarship my senior year, in fact. Suffice it to say that all went even better than we anticipated. We delayed our first son’s arrival for over 6 years, which I do recommend. We were 26 at his birth, owned a home, and had good jobs. We went on to raise 3 fabulous, successful sons, and have our first grandson on the way. I agree you need to do what’s right for you. Maturity has nothing to do with age. We were enormously more mature at 20 than many people we knew in their 50′s. We had goals and believed in the concept of delayed gratification, if necessary. Today I am an attorney and own a business, and he is chief engineer in a manufacturing company. We wouldn’t have done it any other way. Best wishes to you both as you enjoy all of the wonderful years yet to come!

Leave a Reply

